Africa > West Africa > Guinea-bissau > Guinea-bissau Geography Profile 2012

Guinea-Bissau: Guinea-bissau Geography Profile 2012






Guinea-bissau Geography Profile 2012

Equatorial Guinea, or Republic of Equatorial Guinea, a country of west-central Africa. It lies near the Equator and consists of a mainland region, called Río Muni, and several islands, the largest of which is Bioko (formerly Fernando Po). Río Muni faces the Gulf of Guinea and is bounded by Cameroon and Gabon. Bioko lies about 100 miles (160 km) northwest of Río Muni; Annobón, the next-largest island, is some 300 miles (480 km) southwest of the mainland. The country's total area is 10,831 square miles (28,051 km²).

In Río Muni, a coastal plain rises inland to hills that reach elevations of more than 3,900 feet (1,200 m) above sea level. Bioko is volcanic in origin and rises to two main peaks, the higher of which is 9,869 feet (3,008 m) above the sea. Much of the country is heavily forested, except at higher elevations on Bioko and where the land has been cleared for farming. The climate is tropical and rainy.


Western Africa, bordering the North Atlantic Ocean, between Guinea and Senegal

Geographic coordinates: 

12 00 N, 15 00 W

Map references: 


Area comparative: 

slightly more than twice the size of Nevada

Land boundaries Total: 

724 km

Land boundaries Note: 


tropical; generally hot and humid; monsoonal-type rainy season (June to November) with southwesterly winds; dry season (December to May) with northeasterly harmattan winds


mostly low coastal plain rising to savanna in east

Natural resources: 

fish, timber, phosphates, bauxite, clay, granite, limestone, unexploited deposits of petroleum

Natural hazards: 

hot, dry, dusty harmattan haze may reduce visibility during dry season; brush fires

Environment - current issues: 

deforestation; soil erosion; overgrazing; overfishing

Geography note: 

this small country is swampy along its western coast and low-lying inland