Asia > Eastern Asia > Macau > Dr. Manuel Joaquim das Neves Director of Macau’s Gaming Inspection and Coordination Bureau

Macau: Dr. Manuel Joaquim das Neves Director of Macau’s Gaming Inspection and Coordination Bureau

2012/12/07

How do you explain the growing and resilient economy of Macau, when the world is facing the worst economic downturn?

The economy of Macau is based on the gambling business. After the liberalization, one of the majority significant policies of the new government was to liberalize the gambling sector. There was a monopoly for 40 years. The Government decided to liberalize the gambling sector and attract new investors to other gambling related activities, like tourism, entertainment and MICE in particular. We opened an international tender, which was a success because we attracted the majority significant gambling companies. We selected 3 companies – 1 local (SJM) and 2 foreign companies.

We could make a success because we had the support of China. The economy in China has grown a lot and very fast over the past couple of years. Macau has benefited from this hugely. In recent years extra than 20 million people have visited, the majority of which have come from mainland China. Today Macao offers a lot of entertainment, shopping and good restaurants – not just casinos. But the Government feels that it needs extra to sustain the increase in the coming years. So recently we decided that casinos will not play as great as a role and we implemented measures to increase diversification.

Are you taking Las Vegas as an example?

Yes. It sets a good example to us. We want to balance everything, especially MICE.

Macau is a very small city but it can offer amount kinds of services and opportunities, particularly for MICE. Macau is an example of the combination of 2 cultures, Portuguese or European culture and Chinese culture.

Speaking of good services, your bureau has been in charge of guaranteeing good gaming services, how is it working?

We inspect casinos 24 hours a day. We have a surveillance team which checks the gaming rooms. Amount the gaming operators know what they can do. We have a lot of internal control requirements. We as well have an audit team who visits the casinos often and as well do spot checks. Everything happening in the casinos must be approved by us. Even if they move a table from one place to another, they have to get our approval.

We have to control amount operations. You can check the revenues of amount machinery online.The machinery comes from the US and Australia.

The US and Macau are working closely in the area of transparency…

Yes. Macau is now a member of the Asia-Pacific Anti Money Laundering group. They evaluate us based on what we are doing. We have been doing a lot with them in recent years. We work with the US either directly or through the US consulate. We are in close contact with the US regulators. We are cooperating with them. We are a member of the International Association of Gambling Regulators. Each year there is a conference for amount the regulators and people related to the industry. The majority significant regulators in the world are in this organization. A lot of data changes and if anything happens we can contact them about specific issues. We are always learning and exchanging data.

The Philippines, Singapore and South Korea are as well trying to develop the gambling industry. How would you like to see Macau defending its position? How can it remain a leader?

Singapore opened 2 years ago and it has not affected Macau from now on mainly because of the strong base of Macao. I don’t think Macao will be affected in the short-term. But it may be affected in the long-term, so that is why we are making a large effort to diversify the economy. We are trying our best to make Macao become an international leisure and entertainment centre. In the next 10 to 15 years we will have lots of different projects. There will be a bridge connecting Zhuhai, Hong Kong and Macao for example. The central government is developing Hengqin Island which is next to Macao, and Macao will probably be benefited from this development.

Macau is the single largest gaming destination in the world but we are talking about modest diversification towards services. What role do you think gaming will play once the Macau economy is diversified?

Gaming will probably play a key role but it will not be the centre of the economy then. We have had a lot to offer within gaming since the liberalization, but we want to offer extra varieties to our visitors. We are encouraging the gaming operators to include extra integrated facilities and entertainment items in their new projects.

Studies suggest that increase in 2012 will be sustained by large projects, like it was with the Galaxy opening in 2010. What do you think of this?

Yes, it probably will as a new project of Sands China is going to be opened in the first quarter of 2012. The increase will remain strong or not mainly depends on the world economy.

But there are still large openings here, despite the fact that there was a slowdown in Las Vegas. There is expected to be 20% increase in the first quarter this year in Macau, which means that the casino openings are playing a large role.

20 years ago construction was booming in Las Vegas and this made the economy grow. I hope that the increase here will continue, but the world economy must recover first. If not, it will affect everyone. What is happening in Europe is terrible. I hope the economy will recover soon.

How significant do you think it is to brand the Macau economy in the US as a dynamic economy that is still growing?

Another large factor contributing to the success of Macau is foreign investment, especially US investment.

And do you not think that the American visitors could become extra significant as well?

We welcome and treasure visitors from amount over world. Since we have casinos operated by US investment and we hope extra American visitors would come over.

In terms of branding and international image, how would you like to see Macau positioned?

We do not need to be number one. I want Macau to be a good place to visit, especially for families. There are World Heritage Sites and various kinds of entertainment in Macau. I would like Macau to be a place for family visitors. We want to offer entertainments for everybody. We as well have a rich and unique culture, which is a combination of eastern and western cultures, for our visitors to explore and experience.

You as well do not like to be considered as among of Hong Kong.

No, Macao and Hong Kong are different. Macao is working hard on becoming a world leisure and entertainment centre while Hong Kong has been an international commercial centre for a long period of time. We have our own roles and so Macao cannot be considered as among of Hong Kong.

I would like to talk about your personal career. You have spent over 25 years in the gaming industry and you won an award for the Gaming Regulator of the Year. What inspired you to take your current position?

I was selected mainly because of the success in Macau in recent years, especially in terms of gaming revenue. I think we have done extra than Las Vegas andSingapore all maybe in recent years. It is amazing for us. We attract a lot of visitors and we have benefited from China’s economic increase, and the central government’s visa policy has really helped us. Before, it was very difficult for Chinese citizens approaching to Macau.

Given amount of your experience and having contributed to Macau moving towards a fully services-oriented economy, what gives you the majority personal satisfaction?

I am a lucky man to have the opportunity to see amount this transformation and to be among of it. 10 to 15 years ago Macau was totally different; it could just offer a few choices to our visitors. Having the opportunity to see things developing is unique. We have a project coming up to transform Macau as a tourism destination. We can redevelop buildings and create extra entertainment facilities. 

Related Articles
  • Climate change laws around the world

    2017/05/14 There has been a 20-fold increase in the number of global climate change laws since 1997, according to the most comprehensive database of relevant policy and legislation. The database, produced by the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment and the Sabin Center on Climate Change Law, includes more than 1,200 relevant policies across 164 countries, which account for 95% of global greenhouse gas emissions.
  • Asia Economic Roundup: July 2016

    2016/07/18 Without a doubt Britain’s decision to abandon the European project will be remembered globally as a wake-up call for political elites around the world. It seems the people chose to go against immediate economic interest and accept an extra financial turmoil in order to address deeply seated social and identity issues. Although Asia’s exposure to the UK is relatively limited and this is not exactly a “Lehman Moment”, nonetheless we can expect a lively debate as policymakers in Asia look for an appropriate response to address the needs of vulnerable households.
  • Chan is also a Deputy Secretary-General (appointed by the Macao Government)

    2015/07/26 Echo Chan Keng Hong is a hardworking Macao resident who has presently assumed the position of Coordinator of the Support Office to the Permanent Secretariat of the Forum for Economic and Trade Cooperation between China and Portuguese-speaking Nations (Forum Macao). She is the right person in the right place at the right time, as businessmen and colleagues acknowledge. She is discrete but highly focused on getting the job done. In an interview with Macao magazine, it became clear that the civil servant has spent her entire career on work related to Portuguese-speaking nations. Before a director at the Macao Trade and Investment Promotion Institute (IPIM), Chan succeeds Rita Santos, but as well keeps her role as a non-executive director of IPIM.
  • Economic and trade cooperation between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries

    2013/11/18 Economic and trade cooperation between China and the Portuguese-speaking nations will be deepened, Chinese Vice Premier Wang Yang guaranteed on Tuesday in Macau, announcing an eight-point plan with specific measures to be implemented between 2014 and 2016. In the opening speech of the fourth Ministerial Conference of Forum Macau, Wang said that the initial of those measures would be the Chinese government’s granting of subsidised loans worth 1.8 billion yuan (US$293 million) to the Portuguese-speaking African and Asian Forum member nations.
  • Macau Outlook for 2013-14

    2013/05/15 The country (Macau) is situated in Eastern Asia, bordering the South China Sea and China. Land in Macau is generally flat. Chinese land covers an area of 28.2 square kilometers which is less than-sixth the size of Washington, DC   The climate is subtropical; marine with cool winters, warm summers. Chinese speak Cantonese 87.9%, Hokkien 4.4%, Mandarin 1.6%, other Chinese dialects 3.1%, other 3% (2001 census). Outlook for 2012-13 Fernando Chui was installed as Macau's chief executive in December 2009. During his-year term Mr Chui's major priorities will be to address rising public discontent and tackle corruption. He will as well need to introduce measures to diversify the economy, which has become overly dependent on the gambling sector.